I have finally taken the time to learn how to analyze the DNA test results that I have received from Ancestry, FTDNA, and GEDMatch.

I know a professional genealogist, Andrea Ackermann, who specializes in DNA research and how the DNA results aid in researching one’s family tree.  She gave me individualized instruction on analyzing my data from all three companies.  I recommend Andrea when it comes to DNA analysis.  If you would like her email address, just let me know!

Andrea recommended that I purchase the book, Genetic Genealogy in Practice, by Blaine T. Bettinger and Debbie Parker Wayne.  I have read a few of the chapters so far, and completed the exercises.  This book, along with the individualized instruction, has really helped me to understand all of my results.  Another book recommended by Andrea is, The Family Tree Guide To DNA Testing and Genetic Genealogy, by Blaine T. Bettinger.  I just received the shipping notification, and I am awaiting the delivery of the book.

I cannot recommend enough having individualized instruction, and the books, to aid in understanding DNA test results.

Maggie

