Have you used the newspaper as a resource for discovering court news concerning your ancestor?

Recently, I was researching someone who was from the Columbus, OH, area. I was not able to travel there to look at court records. However, I was able to discover a few different court “cases” having to do with the person and their family by looking in several local newspapers. In each newspaper, there was a section entitled “Court News”. For the person and the person’s family in whom I was interested, there were several court cases described, each including the names of each side and a description of the court case. Then, in later newspapers, the outcome of the court case was found. The newspapers recorded so much information that it was not necessary for me to hire someone to actually go and find the case in the Columbus, OH, area.

Good luck!

Maggie

