Recently, I was researching probate records by looking on microfilm that was at the library. I had looked in the index for the person’s record, and gone to the page. I wasn’t sure how to email a copy to my email address, so I asked the librarian for assistance. She was very helpful! Along with showing me how to email the document, she explained that the “print guides” on the “screen” of the microfilm machine were not really what would be printed or sent by email. She explained that even though the guides showed all of the document within the “print” area, not all of the document would be captured.

Make sure that you understand exactly what will be captured when printing/emailing from the microfilm machine. You may think you are capturing the entire document because it is shown within the “guides”. But, you may not be getting all of it!

Maggie

