I want to share with all of you a good experience I had this past Wednesday morning.

I have been researching a family who resided in Evansville, Vanderburgh Co., IN. Family story is that one of the children was adopted by the family. I decided to see what I could do to confirm this.

I called the Probate Division of the Vanderburgh Co. Clerk’s Office. The person who answered was kind and helpful. I told her in which I was interested, and she told me that adoption records are closed. So I asked about the Guardianship Records – it could be that the father was a guardian to the “son” before adoption. The person was very helpful on this matter as well. I was told to write a letter with the information in it (name of guardian, name of child, date) and send it to the Probate Division. Someone in the office will look in the index to determine whether or not there is a guardianship record. There is no charge for this service. They will call me to let me know one way or the other as to a record being found.

If a record is found (I hope so!), someone from the Probate Division will call and tell me what the charge will be for the file to be pulled and copies made.

It is so nice and a good start to the day when something like this happens!

Maggie

