You have been to the courthouse and have found probate, land, and marriage records on your ancestor. That is wonderful!

But, have you looked at the courthouse for the “lesser known” records?

Recently, I had a request from a client. This client wanted me to find the power-of-attorney record for their ancestor. The client had the date of such, which would make the search easier. This was a “new” request for me – I had never thought of looking for such a record. (A professional is always learning!) The client was also a Professional Genealogist, so I asked her for more information as to where such a record may be found. She told me that most often these records are found in the Recorder’s Office, and are found in the Grantor-Grantee Property Records.

When I went to the Recorder’s Office, I first looked in the specified books – Grantor-Grantee Property Records. However, there were no power-of-attorney records in the books. So, I looked around to see what else could be found in the office. In an inconspicuous place in the records office was a book marked “Miscellaneous”. When I opened the book, I was amazed at what was in the book – divorces, powers-of-attorney, land transfers that were time-conscious, etc. And, the power-of-attorney for which I was searching was in THIS book.

The reason I mention this is that I had looked in that particular book about three years ago. However, I had forgotten about the treasure trove it contained.

So, look at the Miscellaneous books, and others too, that are in the record offices at the courthouse. You may be surprised at what you find!

Maggie

