When you find a birth record, or have someone tell you the information that would be in a birth record, how do you know that it is correct?

If the birth person is telling you the information, how do they know? Do they have a copy of their birth certificate? Or, do they “know” where they were born because of what their parents have told them over and over again?

I was interviewing someone once, and she told me where and when she was born. This was an older person, and she wanted me to find her birth certificate – she did not have a copy. So, I searched and searched in the city of her birth – no search birth could be found.

So, I looked in areas around the city. There it was! The woman had been born in a small hospital outside of the larger city. She was correct as to her birth date, but the place was incorrect!

Maggie

