Don’t forget to cite that source.

When I research, it is tempting to continue looking and looking – I have found something good, and want to keep going. However, it is important to cite the source BEFORE looking at the information.

The first thing I always do is write down the source. If I find something useful, then I know where the information was. If I don’t find something, I know where there wasn’t something useful.

And, a lot of the time I don’t “write” down the source. If I don’t find anything in the book, I usually just take a photo with my cell phone of the source information – title page, publishing information, etc. This saves much time!

I also have the date written down (or photographed) so that I know exactly when I am citing the source.

So, whether using the camera on your cell phone, or your pencil and paper, cite your source!

Maggie

