When visiting a courthouse, make sure that you are polite.

Every courthouse is different as far as their rules for accessing records. I have been in some that I have just walked in, looked at records, scanned with my FlipPal, and walked out – never speaking to anyone working (nor seeing anyone). And, I have been in some courthouses where the records are only accessible through a window – I looked in an index in a separate room (that was all that was there – indexes), and took the information to a bullet-proof window. The person behind the window accessed the record and made a copy. I never “saw” the actual record – just the copy.

So, be polite. In the second instance mentioned above, the person was polite back to me as well. (This made the seemingly difficult situation much easier to handle.)

Maggie

