I was recently searching for a family in immigration records. I found the one in the family for whom I was searching. He was traveling alone, arriving alone at Ellis Island.

Later on in my research, I discovered that he had siblings that may have arrived in the United States at about the same time as he did. I thought I knew the name of a sibling, so I searched the Ellis Island records for her as well. And, she was listed on the page previous to the one for whom I had previously searched. And, I found another possible sibling on the page before that page!

So, when checking for your immigrant ancestor, don’t forget to check out the pages before and after your ancestor. It could be that siblings were split-up, and they were not “together” when recorded on the manifest.

Maggie

