Recently, I was researching at a courthouse. I was in the clerk’s office, going through the probate records. The probate books all had indexes in them, which made the search much easier!

I found the person for whom I was looking. The record ended with the signatures of county officers.

For some reason, I turned the page. And, I was glad I did! On the next page, additional information was found concerning the probate record. Apparently, when the record was copied into the book, something was omitted. The omission was discovered after the next page in the probate book was begun. So, the “omitted” material was written on this page (about half of the way down the page). But, the page was never entered into the index.

If I had never turned the page, I would never have known the additional information.

Maggie

