More on the mystery of John Bradshaw:

John Bradshaw and Catherine Huffman had children Leander (my ancestor), Matilda, John Monroe, Elijah Liter, Julia, Mary Ann, Malinda, Sarah Ann, and Susan Catherine.

More on Matilda and Edward Martin:

It is known that Matilda died at the Home for Aged and Infirm in Louisville, Kentucky on 12 January 1911, and is buried in Eastern Cemetery in Louisville.

As I said in my last post, I found an E.P. Martin in Louisville in 1900. However, I am not sure if this is the correct E.P.!  And, I now know that Edward and Matilda are the same as E.P. – they lived at 42o W. Chestnut Street in 1870.

Since in 1880 Edward and Matilda were living in Nelson County, it was not possible to do the same type of research for 1880.

So, I began to look at the 1880 Louisville City Directory.  In 1880, E. P. was in the business, Martin & Hoke.  According to the directory, E. P. was boarding at 312 Walnut.  This I determined to be the same as the residence of Charles C. Hoke, his business partner.  I was able to find C. C. Hoke in the 1880 census, and he was living with his brother-in-law, Henry Smith.    Also in the household was Edward Martin, age 50 years.  Both C. C. Hoke and Edward Martin were listed as Tan-bark inspectors.

Further examination of the census yielded more interesting results!  Also in the household was Edward Conn.  He is listed as a boarder in the household of Henry Smith.  It is known by the writer of this blog that Edward was the nephew of Edward Martin – Edward Conn was the son of Thomas and Susan (Bradshaw) Conn – Susan was the sister of Edward’s wife, Matilda.  Another boarder in the household was Lambert Martin.  Further examination in the 1880 Louisville city directory shows that “Bert” was a clerk at Martin & Hoke.

Edward Conn, being the nephew of Edward Martin, could have “boarded” at the same place as Edward Martin.  And, in the 1880 census for Nelson County, the Martin’s and Conn’s are living close.  On a map, it shows that their properties were close as well.

I wonder who this Lambert “Bert” was. I wonder if he was a nephew of Edward Martin.

I am thinking that the Edward Martin in the 1880 Louisville city directory is the husband of Matilda.  Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

More examination still needs to be made on the E. P. Martin in Louisville!

 

Maggie

