Have you finally been able to make that trip to the historical society in the town from which your ancestor came?  If so, have you found newspaper articles on your ancestor?

When I have found newspaper articles at the historical or genealogical society, usually the articles are contained in the newspaper – not cut out and removed from the newspaper.  I have made a copy of the article, plus any articles directly surrounding the article.  I have also made copies of the ads in the paper! Then, when I get home, I check out a genealogy message board.

First, I search to see if anyone is looking for the people named in the articles.  If so, I “reply” to the post – do they want a copy of the article?  If there is no one looking for the people, than I create a new post.

It is amazing how many articles I have sent to others who would never have had the article!

Maggie

