More on the mystery of John Bradshaw:

John Bradshaw and Catherine Huffman had children Leander (my ancestor), Matilda, John Monroe, Elijah Liter, Julia, Mary Ann, Malinda, Sarah Ann, and Susan Catherine.

More on Matilda and Edward Martin:

It is known that Matilda died at the Home for Aged and Infirm in Louisville, Kentucky on 12 January 1911, and is buried in Eastern Cemetery in Louisville.

As I said in my last post, I have not found Edward and Matilda in the 1900 census.  Matilda is not in the census for the “Home”.  I have found an E.P. Martin living in Louisville in 1900, but I don’t think it is E.P. Martin. Here is a snapshot of the census:

top portion 1900 census for 12

 

bottom portion 1900 census for 12

 

The location where they lived, Eighth Street, is the location of E. P. Martin’s residence as given in the 1900 Louisville City Directory.

Could there have been more than one E.P. Martin with a grocery store?  Could E.P. and Matilda been divorced?  Edward and Matilda are together in the 1880 census in Nelson County.  Could Edward have had a “second” wife in Louisville?

More examination needs to be made on the E. P. Martin in Louisville!

 

Maggie

