While going through some more of my folks’ papers, I came upon old newspapers.  Now, why did they keep the May 5, 1925, Interior Journal of Stanford, Kentucky?

So, I read (quickly read) the paper for clues.  Here are some of the tidbits of information I found:

The Whitehead Cash Store in Hustonville, Kentucky, was having a 10-day sale.  Some of the items they were selling were “White Back Denims for Men at $1.20 per pair.”

However, the reason that I think the paper was kept was an article on the front page of the paper – “Completed and Paid For” was the headline.  It seems that the “new” Christian Church was dedicated.  The “old” building was built in 1881 (replacing the original building), and a new building was complete and paid for.  The groundbreaking was the previous June – ministers from the other churches in town were the orators on that occasion.  The article in the paper gives a long history of the church, naming early officers in the church.  The earliest record of the church was dated 1834, with the charter members being on a list from 1840.  Some of the names listed of members from later times were those of my ancestors.  And, included in the article was all of the activities of the dedication day – many of my ancestors were listed as taking part in the services that day.

Now I know why the paper was kept!

Maggie

