Are you currently using a family tree builder program?  If so, do you like it?  Is it providing a family tree that you will actually use, or has the entering of the information in the tree been a waste of time?

Back in the year 2000, my parents were both using Family Tree Maker 8.  Neither of them was able to research anymore, so they were going to be removing the program from their computer.  So, they asked me if I would like to begin using their copy.  I contacted the makers of Family Tree Maker, and told them the situation.  They said it was no problem switching the license to me.  So, I began putting in the information which I had on all of my family – beginning with my grandparents on both sides, and my husband’s grandparents on both sides.

After much work, I published 7 books on our families – Pettus, Bradshaw, Lyon, Bryan, Babcock (part of the Lyon family), Champion, and Bringe.   And, I distributed the books to those in our immediate family.  Others, more distant, were able to purchase a copy, and some of them did.

As time has gone on, I have continued to update my files on Family Tree Maker 8.  I now have many, many individuals in each of my files!

Recently, I was notified about another family tree builder program, MyHeritage.  I thought I would check it out.  I was able to export my GEDCOM file from Family Tree Maker 8 and then import it into MyHeritage.  It was so easy to do!  I “played” with MyHeritage a bit, and I liked the reports that MyHeritage would provide – they were different from the ones in FTM 8.  So, now I have two programs which I like.

Do you have a favorite program?

Maggie

