Recently, my husband and I were able to go on a trip to the Holy Land – specifically Jordan and Israel.  We traveled with a group tour, Educational Opportunities.  I highly recommend Educational Opportunities.  Beginning in 1973, Educational Opportunities provides Christian travel programs.  EO provides land tours and cruises.  Check out their web site:  http://www.eo.travelwithus.com/.

Our trip was wonderful – we saw so much in the brief time we were there!  We spent 1 ½ days in Jordan – Amman, Petra, and Jerash.  Then, we traveled to Israel – Qumran, Jericho, Jerusalem, Bethlehem, Caesarea Maritime, Megiddo, Nazareth, Cana, Yardent Baptismal Site, Tiberius, Mount of Beatitudes, Tabgha, Capernaum, and Beit Shean.

Now, like so many, we are being asked to give a presentation on our trip.  And we are happy to do so.  This has been a challenge for us!  We took close to 1000 photos!   Aren’t digital cameras great?  No need to worry about setting up the perfect picture – if one doesn’t work, just take another.  So, with two digital cameras full of photos, we began the sorting.  We were able to narrow down the photos for the PowerPoint presentation – just shy of 300 photos.  This many photos, with a little commentary, needs about 1 ¾ hours to present.

As a genealogist, I think this has been a good learning lesson for me.  There are times when I have so much information on my family that I must somehow condense and organize it – without the organization, it is just a bunch of data.  Even though some think that this can be a waste of precious time, it is most definitely not!  I know that the books that I have written about my family show that the organization was worth it!

Maggie

 

