My great-great-great grandfather, Sylvester Jones, has a gravestone in Grace Cemetery in Castile, Wyoming County, New York.  His parents are buried in the same cemetery, as well as his wife’s “adoptive” parents.

Much of the information is difficult to read – the stone is quite old.  He died in January 1844, and the gravestone was probably erected shortly after (or later depending on the weather the winter of 1844).  When I came across the photo, the information on the stone was very difficult to read.  However, after examining the stone more closely, and using a photo editor, I was able to “make out” the information.  Here is what I discovered:

So, by using a photo editor, I was able to see that he was Sylvester M., son of Christopher and Mercy Jones.  He died 13 January 1847, and he was age 22 years 7 mos.   This would mean that he was probably born about June 1824.

Maggie

